The Opinionated Baker

Not all of us are made of sugar and spice

Japanese Light Cheesecake. It’s so fluffy!

with 3 comments

It’s been a long and bad week.

The markets are down, my test was disgusting *@#* and people were mean.

You know it’s been a bad week when you tally the junk food count and it goes something like this.

1) Slices of cheesecake, 4

2) Chocolate consumption in weight, 300gram

3) Chocolate chip cookies eaten, 10

4) Ice cream in number of scoops, 4

5) Burger King meals eaten whilst having project meeting, 2

6) Coke drunk, 1 bottle

7) Cereal eaten at midnight, 4 bowls

The list goes on…and I was only in school for 3 days!

You must be wondering why I still can fit through my doors. Not for long I’m sure, if this keeps up. So imagine my relief when I found a cheesecake recipe that both satisfies my need for comfort food and doesn’t weigh too heavily on the tummy fats.

Japanese cheesecake is harder to find in Singapore as compared to the other kinds of cheesecake. When I was younger, we used to buy it by the entire cake from Fiesta and it was good… I’m glad to say that this cake tastes exactly like it. It has a very light and fluffily texture that collapses in your mouth. Some people call it souffle cheesecake but eh, that seems a bit too pretentious for such a simple cake.

Warning: Hardcore creamy cheesecake fans might not adapt to it’s fluffy bunny sunshine texture.

(Despicable me anyone?)

I got this recipe off A Tale of Crumbs, thanks muchly to her.

cheesecake

Japanese Light Cheesecake

By A Tale of Crumbs

Ingredients:
70g castor sugar
3 eggs, separated
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
25g butter
125g cream cheese
50ml fresh milk
1/2 tbsp lemon juice
30g corn flour
15g corn starch
Pinch of salt

Method:
1. Melt cream cheese, butter and milk in a heat-proof bowl over a simmering pot of water.

2. Let cool and stir in the egg yolks, but do not beat the mixture.

IMG_8633

3. Fold in the corn flour, starch, salt and lemon juice. Mix well and set aside.

4. Whisk egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy, and add the sugar slowly in 3 portions and whisk until soft peaks form. (Don’t over whisk as it would be difficult to combine if too stiff.)

5. Fold the cheese mixture to the egg white mixture and combine well. (This part is important as it will determine the texture of the cake.)

6. Pour the batter into a 7-inch round cake pan lined with parchment paper. If you can get rid of the bubbles on top, your cake will turn out prettier. But I couldn’t. 😦 If you are using a springform, be sure to wrap the cake tin in aluminium foil to prevent seepage of water into the gaps.

IMG_8635

7. Place it in a water bath (I just half-filled a large rectangular 2-inch deep aluminium tray with water) and bake at 150 degrees Celsius for 1 hour. Turn off the heat after 1 hour, and let cake cook slowly in the oven. After 20 minutes, remove the cake from oven and cake tin, and let cool on a plate.

8. When completely cooled, place it in the fridge to chill for a couple of hours until it is ready to be served.

Written by Musingsat

March 4, 2011 at 6:23 am

Posted in Cakes, Cheese, Healthy

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi opinionated baker, I’m glad you liked the recipe, thanks for linking back! 🙂

    Simin

    March 6, 2011 at 5:15 pm

  2. Oh I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who has eaten her weight in bad choices this week! Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the shout-out on the Thin Mints! 🙂 They were fun to make. And eat. ♥- Katrina

    • Haha yes and I shall attribute upcoming bad choices to your cookies! I’m saving that recipe for a time when I can bring them to school to share out, or they’d undoubtedly all go toward my waistline. =P

      Musingsat

      March 7, 2011 at 4:13 am


Leave a Reply

