The Opinionated Baker

Not all of us are made of sugar and spice

Valentines’ Day Carrots!

with 3 comments

I haven’t updated in ages I know. My bad. 😦

So anyway, after 3 years of loveydovey-ness, i finally found out that my boyfriend dislikes chocolate! Oh the horror. This took place a month before valentines day.. and after giving him chocolate related foods for the past two years… oh the horror…lets not dwell on the past.. horror…

In addition, my boyfriend, (whom i have named BUNNY, solely because it rhymes with honey and wunny- do you pity him already?) NEVER eats enough vegetables. I tell him that he would never be able to poop properly if he doesn’t ingest sufficient bowel-moving, earth-shaking fibre. But does he listen? No. So of late I have been trying to sneak fibre into the cakes and cookies that I bake for him.

I am the mastermind! Beware my schemes!

I’ll be honest with you, this is the first time that my carrot cake has succeeded. And, this is NOT the first time that I have attempted carrot cake. This carrot cake right there below this line, has gotten rave (hopefully not out of sympathy) reviews and devouration (not quite a word, but an awesome descriptor).

EDIT (12 MAR 2011): I baked the cake again to use up my excess cream cheese frosting. It’s just as awesome as the last time. =) So don’t worry and go ahead and bake this!

car

Even rabbits love it! Convinced yet? No? Darn. I bet you never make impulse buys in the supermarket and have never shopped online before. Hmph. (lucky bitch. my credit card weeps out of overuse)

So anyway, here is the recipe, do give it a try if you have the time. Maybe it’d help in the earth-shaking, bowel-moving experiences. I just realized how bad that sounded. Bowel-moving not in a bad way, bowel-moving in a healthy make space for more carrot cake kind of way.

The Carrot Cake

adapted from allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

For the carrot cake:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups olive oil
  • 2 cups raw sugar
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3 cups grated carrots

For the cream cheese frosting:(this was too much for me. =( Halve it unless cream cheese frosting is to you like spinach is to Popeye)

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 4 ounces light cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cups confectioners’ sugar (just add how much you want, I prefer my icing not so sweet, so i just add and taste and trial and error it. Oops)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Colouring till prettiness

Directions:

  1. Grate the carrots first. It takes so darned long unless you have some amazing kitchen gadget, or a kitchen slave.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan.
  3. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla.
  4. Mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.
  5. Combine dry ingredients into wet ingredients, be careful not to over mix!
  6. Stir in carrots.
  7. Pour into prepared pan.
  8. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 50 minutes (mine was about 45mins), or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.
  9. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.
  10. To Make Frosting: In a medium bowl, combine butter, cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, colouring and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until the mixture is smooth and creamy. Frost the cooled cake.
  11. Enjoy with <insert name of loved one here>

I’ve never actually celebrated Valentines’ Day on the actual day itself with my boyfriend. He’s forever busy, flying here, flying there… but we still managed to have a Valentine dinner at the Flutes at Fort Canning Hill. =)

How was your Valentines’ Day? Hope you passed it with people you loved! Whether a girl/boyfriend or a good friend. =)
IMG_8971

Written by Musingsat

February 17, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Posted in Cakes, Cheese, Healthy

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. loved ur carrot cake! It’s yummy and moist! and ur post is hilarious, ur poor boyfriend.. (bunny and wunny)

    Mel

    February 18, 2011 at 3:52 pm

  2. Maybe we should have a TS rejects club… which I will undoubtedly have to lead. Tsk Tsk.

    On a brighter note, apparently there is a site called taste stopping that publishes badly taken photos. Or something like that… I think after a while, I’m going to start sending mine to only that site…:D

    Miss Stovetop

    March 2, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    • Really? But the photographs on your blog are always so pretty. I wonder how TS judges their photos…

      Musingsat

      March 3, 2011 at 2:06 am


Leave a Reply

