The Opinionated Baker

Not all of us are made of sugar and spice

Black bottomed cupcakes: Celebrating diversity

leave a comment »

I love black bottomed cupcakes. I always bake these when I have cream cheese to clear or if I need some cupcakes to bribe my way past something. (I’m always late for meetups. 😦 When I bring food, I get forgiven more easily)

So the other day, I was baking these cupcakes to clear off the remnants of cream cheese from my cheesecake 2 posts away… and I got to thinking how black bottomed cupcakes are essentially a realistic representative of how important diversity is in our world. The cupcakes would taste (frankly) like crap if it was only the cheese part or only the chocolate part. It is the marriage of the two vastly different tastes that makes it quite so awesome. 🙂

Black Bottomed cupcakes I

adapted from allrecipes.com, I normally halve the cheese mixture which I have calculated in the recipe below.

Ingredients

  • 4 ounce cream cheese, softened
  • 1 small small egg

  • 1/6 cup – 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 1/16 teaspoon salt (i just leave this out)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped white chocolate (I have tried this with dark chocolate and stuff but white chocolate gives it the best taste.)
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup water (I use milk)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line muffin tins with paper cups or lightly spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese, egg, 1/3 cup sugar and 1/8 teaspoon salt until light and fluffy. Stir in the chocolate and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, 1 cup sugar, cocoa, baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon salt.
  4. Make a well in the center and add the water, oil, vinegar and vanilla. Stir together until well blended.
  5. Fill muffin tins 1/3 full with the batter and top with a dollop of the cream cheese mixture.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes.
Written by Musingsat

May 22, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Posted in Cheese, Chocolate, Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

