The Opinionated Baker

Not all of us are made of sugar and spice

Hazelnut blueberry biscotti

with 6 comments

Lately, WordPress has been messing with my feelings. For entire days, I won’t be able to access the system to edit or create new posts. =( Not like I had the time too anyway.

What’s with the world lately? It’s just too depressing. =( The past week, I have been secretly panicking. See, there’s this frightful phenomenon known as the “MID-SEM CRISIS”. It’s a horrible thing that strikes in the middle of each semester, when deadlines pile up and things don’t appear to be going well. And it creeps up on you slowly, like an evil snake and when you’re looking the other way IT STRIKES! Another word for it is the “HELL WEEK”.

This round was quite bad. The blow to my ego was unfortunate. But anyways, there’s no looking back because it would be freaky if there was someone standing behind me right now. Wait what? Anyway, ANYWAY, things have taken a turn for the better and my prospects are looking up! I’ve actually gotten calls for internship interviews which is a great relief. (By the way, if your company is looking for an intern… and you love sweet stuff…you know who to email).

So here are some Sunflowers to take away the gloom from the day.

IMG_8941

Feel happy yet?

Just a quick shout out to my darling boyfriend, (who never reads my blog, terrible boy) for making the week better (and driving me around, yay, see I wouldn’t add this if you actually read my blog and not just look at the pictures). And to Mel who listens to my emotional roller-coasters and bakes brownies to cheer me up (I know you want her, but she’s taken). Fantastic brownies by the way, if you’re interested (or depressed). Fantastic.

Okay, back to the point of this post. I needed snacks to munch, and healthy ones too! But the problem with overly healthy snacks is that they aren’t always fantastic. Be warned, this biscotti is good (my dad’s been steadily depleting my biscotti supply, my mom just came in to compliment it too!) but it’s never going to give you a food-gasm. I cut the sugar, I cut the fat… I added fruits. For the original which was pretty darned good, go to Delicious Inspiration‘s website. But this recipe is healthily full of dried blueberries and olive oil… And you can eat it without feeling guilty.

Just a side note, my decision to use blueberries was UNWISE. It would probably be better replaced with dark chocolate or raisins, or crasins… something bigger. The blueberries are too small and kept falling out of the biscotti. =(

Biscotti, every discerning bear’s beverage of choice. (Yes i know my biscotti are ugly because I suck at cutting them.. stop giving them an image issue)

bisc

Hazelnut Blueberry Biscotti

Adapted from Delicious Inspiration

Ingredients
3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 cup olive oil
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon instant expresso

1/2 cup hazelnuts

1/2 cup blueberries (replace this with cranberries/raisins/chocolate chips or something)

Method
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. and line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour and baking powder.  In a smaller bowl, combine the oil, granulated sugar, eggs and extract.  Pour the liquid mixture into the flour and mix well, forming a stiff dough. Knead in the hazelnuts and blueberries. Divide the dough in half, then form the halves into logs as long as the baking sheet (about 12″) and flatten slightly.  Bake the logs until golden brown and firm, 25 to 30 minutes.

Let the logs cool slightly, about a half hour.  Cut the logs into 1/4″ slices (this was the most difficult part, mine kept crumbling… but then I’ve always been rather fail at cutting things. If you find a foolproof way of cutting them prettily, do let me know) and arrange them on the baking sheets and bake again for 10 minutes, flipping the slices halfway through, until they’re golden brown around the edges.

Let cool completely, then store in an airtight container up to 2 weeks. As if it would survive that long, you serial snacker you…

Written by Musingsat

March 12, 2011 at 2:10 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think your biscotti are ugly at all! I’ve never had someone “adapt” a recipe from my blog before, I’m honored! :)

    Beth

    March 12, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    • I was so glad to see your recipe! =) Thank you for sharing it!

      Musingsat

      March 12, 2011 at 2:25 pm

  2. Hi chun! Ur post makes me laugh!!! :)

    Mel

    March 16, 2011 at 5:47 am

  3. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on
    your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you
    customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to
    see a great blog like this one these days.

    Marilyn

    December 20, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    • Hello Marilyn, thank you for the compliments, I feel encouraged to continue my blog after its hiatus now. :) The theme is a free one on WordPress, I did not pay for it or customize it. I think it is called, “The Journalist”.

      Musingsat

      December 21, 2012 at 8:38 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

